Review & Excerpt | Tess Woods – Love at First Flight

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.


I received this book for free from Author, CLP Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review & Excerpt | Tess Woods – Love at First FlightLove at First Flight by Tess Woods
on April 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Fiction
Pages: 283


What would you risk to be with the love of your life? A family is threatened by an irresistible attraction in this compelling debut that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Anita Shreve.

Looking back on it now, I can see it was instant. the second we locked eyes. Boom. Just like that. the me I had spent a lifetime perfecting began its disintegration from that moment. And despite the carnage it brought to all our lives, I still don't regret it.

What would you risk to be with the love of your life? And what if your soul mate is the one who will destroy you?

Mel is living the dream. She's a successful GP, married to a charming anaesthetist and raising a beautiful family in their plush home in Perth. But when she boards a flight to Melbourne, she meets Matt and her picture perfect Stepford life unravels as she falls in love for the first time ever.

What begins as a flirty conversation between strangers quickly develops into a hot and obsessive affair with disastrous consequences neither Mel nor Matt could have ever seen coming. Mel's dream life turns into her worst nightmare.

Love at First Flight will take everything you believe about what true love is and spin it on its head.

My Review


I’m not sure where to start with this review. Maybe, grab a few tissues? Man alive, this book had me all over the place. In a good way. I was out of town with the band this past weekend and took the opportunity of our downtime and bad weather to read this book, start to almost finish. Well worth the time spent ignoring the boys. I finished last night–right under the wire–and just sat there. For about 10 minutes, I sat there and waited. Waited for the tears to slow and my heart to stop racing. I don’t usually talk about the end of the book, and I still won’t give spoilers, but wow. If you’re looking for a read that will pull your heartstrings in several directions, this is it. Now, does anyone have a book that won’t make me cry? Oh hey, after you buy the book, scroll down a bit and enter the awesome giveaway (GIVEAWAY CLOSED)!!! Off to work! <3

Excerpt


At the mention of her husband, I couldn’t help myself asking about him, despite the knot in my stomach.

‘His name’s Adam,’ said Mel. ‘He’s an anaesthetist. We’ve been married fourteen years.’ She bit on her lower lip.

‘Is he a good guy, this specialist who never tells his wife she’s beautiful?’ I asked, narrowing my eyes.

I expected her to laugh at my expression but she didn’t.

‘He is a good guy. He’s a really great guy, actually.’ She looked at me for a second. ‘I do love him.’ She chewed on her cheek, hesitating. ‘But he doesn’t make my belly flip.’ She hung her head as soon as the words were out.

That’s the moment when everything changed. When she said that. That’s the moment she was exposed and I knew for certain I had a real chance with her.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Tess Woods

Tess Woods is a physiotherapist who lives in Perth, Australia with one husband, two children, one dog and one cat who rules over all of them. Her first novel, Love at First Flight, released by HarperCollins in April 2015, received worldwide critical acclaim, hit the best-seller charts in Australia, and was voted Book of the Year in the AusRom Today Reader’s Choice Awards 2015 where Tess was also top ten nominated as Best New Author. Love at First Flight was the first HarperCollins Australia digital book to be given a print release in August 2016. It went to reprint and went to number one on the Booktopia charts – both pre-release.  Tess’s short story, Destiny in a Day, released in the anthologyHot Stuff: Surfing Love is set in beautiful Cornwall, where she dreams of living one day and Tess is currently working on her second full-length novel, Beautiful Messy Love. When she isn’t working or being a personal assistant to her kids, Tess enjoys reading and all kinds of grannyish pleasures like knitting, baking, drinking tea, watching Downton Abbey and tending to the veggie patch.

Sign up for her monthly newsletter containing writing tips, book reviews, recipes, quizzes and fabulous prizes delivered worldwide in every issue!